Faculty Evaluation Review Subcommittee Meeting Minutes September 1, 2015 Sampson 103

Members present: Larry Arnold (ARTS), Mitu Ashraf (Secretary, At-Large), Youngsuk Chae (LTRS) Shenika Jones (EDUC), Dennis McCracken (NSM), Libby Denny (Chair, SBS), Vacant (At-Large)

Members absent: None

Also attending were: Sara Simmons, Faculty and Institutional Affairs Committee chair

Recording Secretary: Mitu Ashraf

I. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order by Chair Libby Denny at 3:33 p.m.

II. Approval of Minutes of the April 7, 2015, Meeting

The minutes of the April 7, 2015, meeting of the Faculty Evaluation Review Subcommittee were approved.

III. Approval of Agenda

Agenda approved without additions or corrections.

IV. Report from the Chair

Chair, Libby Denny, welcomed the members and presented a summary of what the Subcommittee had accomplished during the previous academic year.

Sara Simmons, Faculty and Institutional Affairs Committee chair, addressed the Subcommittee and updated members about the Subcommittee's charge for the 2015-2016 academic year. She suggested that the Subcommittee should focus on the UNCP tenure, promotion, and post-tenure policies, and provide its recommendations. A discussion followed about on which document should be the Subcommittee focus: the current Faculty Handbook or the document which was voted on by the Board of Trustees during summer 2015? It was the contention of many Subcommittee members that the Subcommittee should focus on the latter. Simmons was requested to provide the latest available copy of the document.

Libby Denny, Chair, suggested that we should also clarify evaluation procedures regarding Lecturers and Senior Lecturers, a topic carried over from last year.

V. Old Business

None

VI. New Business

None

VII. Announcements

The next meeting will be held in Sampson 103 at 3:30 p.m. on October 6, 2015.

VIII. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 5:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by:

Mitu Ashraf Recording Secretary