## The University of North Carolina, Pembroke Minutes of the Meeting of the General Faculty

Friday, May 6, 2016 1:30 p.m., Moore Hall Auditorium

Scott Hicks, Chair Roger Guy, Secretary

## **Minutes**

- I. Approval of Minutes of the Dec. 11 General Faculty Meeting The Minutes were approved by acclamation.
- II. Adoption of Agenda

The Minutes were approved by acclamation with a slight change to the order of the reports that included the Chancellor giving his report after the UNC Faculty Assembly representative.

## III. Reports

A. Chancellor Robin Gary Cummings

Dr. Cummings noted significant accomplishments during the past semester including the installation ceremony, new university administrative positions, and progress of the dean searches. Jodi Phelps has been named Executive Director of University Communications and Marketing, Steve Arndt has been chosen as the new Vice Chancellor for Finance, and Administration, and Dr. Jeff Frederick has been chosen as the Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences. Dr. Cummings also discussed the Braves Kickoff events scheduled for August 10 and 11, 2016. All employees will attend the morning session on Wednesday August 10 from 8:30 a.m. to Noon in GPAC. Details about departmental and divisional activities the afternoon of August 10 and August 11 will be forthcoming during the summer along with reminders from Vice-Chancellors, Deans, and Directors.

## B. Provost Zoe Locklear

Dr. Locklear discussed the university enrollment trends for the upcoming fall semester, and spring graduates. UNCP expects 1200 freshman and 610 transfers in the fall. The Provost reviewed the recipients of the most recent faculty awards, and announced that Dr. Steve Borquin was the recipient of the Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching. She also recognized new department chairs Drs. Emily Neff-Sharum (Political Science and Public Administration) and Jamie Litty (Mass Communication). She concluded by naming the new Director of Sponsored Research, Lisa Oxendine Hunt.

C. Faculty Senate Chair Scott Hicks
Dr. Hicks reviewed the notable accomplishments of the Faculty Senate during the past academic year:

- The Senate elected as chair Sara Simmons of Educational Leadership & Counseling and as secretary Aaron Vandermeer of Music, with their terms beginning in August;
- The Senate revised policies and procedures regarding the appointment, reappointment, evaluation, and terms of department chairs, to facilitate good leadership and strengthen accountability;
- The Senate approved revisions to the procedures for Faculty Evaluation of Administrators, resulting in a more streamlined and user-friendly process;
- The Senate approved revisions to post-tenure review in accordance with UNC system mandates;
- Inspired by the good work of faculty ombudspersons on peer campuses, the Senate approved the creation of a Faculty Grievance Advisory Committee to support faculty who avail themselves of the University's grievance and hearing committees;
- The Senate approved reapportioning departments and areas for the purpose of divisional representation, revised the membership of the Subcommittee on Academic Support Services, amended procedures for electing Faculty Assembly delegates and alternates, assured anonymity in voting, and approved appointments to Senate subcommittees;
- The Senate reset the meeting day of the Faculty & Institutional Affairs Committee to the fourth Tuesday of each month so as to assure the presence and participation of the vice chancellor for Finance & Administration;
- The Senate approved a military student success policy in accordance with UNC system mandates;
- The Senate resolved for the full funding and staffing of Mary Livermore Library, reaffirming the central role of the University library to the academic life and mission of the institution;
- The Senate approved a return to learn concussion protocol to support student learning and health following brain injuries;
- The Senate resolved to rescind the promotion and tenure policy and procedure revisions initiated by former Chancellor Carter and Provost Kitts, so that the University continues to move forward with a nationally recognized faculty evaluation model while strengthening it in vital areas of teaching, advising, and faculty service to community and regional needs;
- The Senate revised procedures that prevented part-time faculty from being eligible for outstanding teaching awards for part-time faculty (and I would like to celebrate here Yuanyuan Lin, instructor of Chinese and adviser to the two-time Chancellor's Cup winning Chinese Club as this year's Outstanding Teaching Award for Part-time Faculty);

- The Senate resolved on the issues of House Bill 2 and the so-called N.C. Guaranteed Admissions Program, unanimously calling for their rescission;
- The Senate approved clarifications to phased registration and commencement procedures in the catalog;
- The Senate approved a recordkeeping process to assure the existence of clear plans for students' completion of incompletes;
- The Senate revised procedures for curricular revision and development to align with more effective and efficient online workflows that will launch in the fall, about which you will learn more in the fall from Curriculum Subcommittee chair Jaime Martinez and catalog editor Sara Oswald;
- The Senate approved joint degree programs between UNCP and N.C.
   State University in engineering;
- The Senate approved the delisting of one course and the revision of another in General Education;
- The Senate approved the designation of four courses as Writing Intensive; and
- The Senate approved curricular revisions in the departments of Accounting & Finance, Art, Chemistry & Physics, Educational Leadership & Counseling, English, Theatre & Foreign Languages, Geology & Geography; Health & Human Performance, History, Music, Nursing; Philosophy & Religion, Political Science & Public Administration, and Social Work.

Dr. Hicks also reported that the Executive Committee met regularly with Provost Locklear, continuing to discuss faculty participation in the identification, recruitment, and selection of senior academic administrators; the roles and responsibilities of faculty under Clery Act and Title IX policies and regulations; and others.

Last, he thanked the Senate's committees and subcommittees and all who serve in shared governance who continue to do excellent work in the life of this University, whose leadership is appreciated.

- D. UNC Faculty Assembly Delegation Dr. David Nikkel announced some of the work accomplished in the Faculty Assembly. (See Appendix AB in the May 4th Faculty Senate Agenda).
- IV. Unfinished Business No unfinished Business
- V. New Business Incoming Chair of the Senate, Dr. Sara Simmons presented Chair, Scott Hicks and Secretary Roger Guy with a certificate noting their leadership and many contributions to a positive culture of shared governance. Dr. Hicks has served two terms as Senate Chair, and Dr. Guy has been Secretary of the Senate since 2011.
- VI. Announcements No Announcements
- VII. Adjournment

Meeting Adjourned at 2:30 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted, Roger Guy, Secretary