Faculty Evaluation Review Subcommittee

Meeting Minutes October 6, 2015 Sampson 103

Members present: Larry Arnold (At-Large), Mitu Ashraf (Secretary, At-Large), Youngsuk Chae (LTRS) Shenika Jones (EDUC), Dennis McCracken (NSM), Libby Denny (Chair, SBS) VACANT (ARTS)

Guest: June Power, future ARTS representative

Members absent: None

Recording Secretary: Mitu Ashraf

I. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order by Chair Libby Denny at 3:30 p.m.

II. Approval of Minutes of the September 1, 2015, Meeting

The minutes of the September 1, 2015 meeting of the Faculty Evaluation Review Subcommittee were approved as amended.

III. Approval of Agenda

Agenda approved as written.

IV. Report from the Chair

Chair, Libby Denny, brought up the issue of promotion and tenure and outlined a few possible questions in this regard. Discussion followed.

It was decided some parts of the Faculty Handbook related to faculty evaluation (Faculty Handbook Section: Criteria, p. 107) needed to be clarified. It was the intent of the committee that the Provost should ensure that the currently published procedures were followed.

The Chair suggested that the committee members read the faculty evaluation procedures and suggest changes, if needed.

VII. Old Business

None

VIII. New Business

None

IX. Announcements

The next meeting will be held in Sampson 103 at 3:30 p.m. on November 3, 2015.

X. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 5:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by:

Mitu Ashraf Recording Secretary