The Minutes of a Meeting of the Task Force on Teaching Excellence

March 20, 2018, 9 a.m.

Livermore Library Conference Room University of North Carolina, Pembroke

Members Present: Michael Alewine, Cherry Maynor Beasley, Charles Beem, Kirill Bumin, Shenika Jones, Zhixin (Richard) Kang, Siva Mandjiny, Carla Rokes, and Joe Sciulli

Members Absent: Terence Dollard and Eun Hee Jeon

Guests: Academic Resources Director Leslie Bell

- I. Call to Order
 - a. The meeting was called to order at 9 a.m.
- II. Approval of Minutes
 - a. The minutes of the Task Force's Jan. 26 meeting (Appendix A) were approved by acclamation.
- III. Adoption of the Agenda
 - a. The agenda was adopted as presented by acclamation.
- IV. Reports
 - a. Teaching & Learning Center Director—Scott Hicks (Appendix B)
 - Programs featuring open classrooms, midsemester check-ins, shared interest groups, and professional development were discussed, with special focus on the importance of developing and supporting a diverse faculty and on progress toward a University College faculty.
- V. New Business
 - a. Review of Financial Resources—Academic Resources Director Leslie Bell of Academic Affairs (Appendix C)
 - i. Fund No. 101490 (Faculty Development Center Operating Budget)
 - 1. Beginning Balance: \$7,000
 - 2. Expenditures: \$1,075.81
 - 3. Available Balance: \$5.924.19
 - ii. Fund No. 152100 (Faculty Development)
 - 1. Beginning Balance: \$45,000
 - 2. Expenditures: \$33,725.59
 - 3. Available Balance: \$11,274.41
 - iii. Gift fund
 - 1. It is the Task Force's wish to increase gift funding available to the TLC, beginning by presenting the TLC's efforts to the Foundation Board of Directors and by recruiting the assistance of emeriti faculty, under the leadership of Sara Simmons.
 - b. Review and Recommendation of Proposals for Grants for Excellence in Teaching & Learning (Appendix D)

i. The Task Force approved funding of Grants for Excellence in Teaching & Learning for Cherry Maynor Beasley *et al.* (\$2,000), Jaime Martinez and Jamie Mize (\$2,896.64), Gretchen Robinson (\$3,915.60), Dana Unger (\$1,777.20), and Autumn Lauzon (\$1,456.72), 7-0-1.

VI. Adjournment

a. The meeting was adjourned at 10:30 a.m.

Minutes respectfully submitted, Scott Hicks, Ph.D., Chair Task Force on Teaching Excellence