Subcommittee on Faculty Development & Welfare

Aug. 13, 2020

WebEx

Members present: Jeff Bolles, Dennis Edgell, Scott Hicks, Autumn Lauzon, José Rivera, Dana Unger

Members absent: Angela Revels

Guests present: Nathan Thomas, Chair, Faculty & Institutional Affairs Committee

- 1. The meeting was called to order at 3:34 pm.
  - 1. Scott Hicks was elected secretary by acclamation.
- 2. The agenda was adopted as presented, 6-0-0.
- 3. Chair's Report
  - Chair Autumn Lauzon welcomed guest Nathan Thomas, noted the Chancellor's denial of the extension of long-term contracts to non-tenure track lecturers (an action item that originated in the subcommittee in AY2019-2020), and reviewed the status of funding available via the Hubbard Award.
- 4. Unfinished Business
  - 1. The Subcommittee voted by acclamation to call for proposals for funding via the Hubbard Award in spring 2021.
- 5. New Business

- 1. The Subcommittee determined as priorities for the academic year the following:
  - 1. Compensation of coordinators in alignment with that of directors
  - 2. The inequity of requiring payment of parking for those teaching face to face and not requiring such of fully teleworking faculty
  - 3. The creation of a University ombudsperson or a similar service via the Office of Human Resources
  - 4. A review of the concerns publicized on the faculty listserv and reported to Faculty Senate via survey (such as transparency in or frequency of COVID-19 reporting, the protocols for students and faculty returning to the classroom, a threshold at which the University would be closed, etc., issues that Chair Thomas will charge to the Health, Safety & Environment Subcommittee)
- 6. The meeting was adjourned at 4:05 pm.