Chemistry and Physics

Faculty & Staff

Professors | Lecturers | Staff | Part-time Faculty


PROFESSORS

Sivanadane Mandjiny, Ph.D.

Professor and Chair
Area: Bioprocessing, Bioseparations, Protein Chemistry and Crystallization, and Extraction of toxic metals from water and waste water
Email: siva.mandjiny@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6608
Office: Oxendine 3101A
Ofice Hours (Sprng 2018): MTWR 9:30-10:30, F 2:00-3:00
Web Page: www.uncp.edu/home/mandjiny/

 

Jose Arruda

Jose'D'Arruda, Ph.D.

Pembroke Professor of Physics
Area: http:/Physics and Astronomy (Stastical Mechanics, Quantum Mechanics, and Classica Mechanics)
Email: jose.darruda@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6423
Office: Oxendine 3225

Office Hours (Spring 2018): TR 7:00-8:00 AM, 9:30-10:30 AM
Web Page: www.uncp.edu/home/jose/

 

Ben BahBen Bahrr , Ph.D.

William C. Friday Distinguished 
Professor of Molecular Biology & Biochemistry 
Email: bahr@uncp.edu
Alzheimer's Disease Research Lab (Alzheimer's Research Brochure
Phone: 910.775.4383
Fax: 910.775.4424 
Office: 126 Biotechnology Research and Training Center

 

Bill Brandon, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Area: Physics
Email: william.brandon@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.775.4289
Office: Oxendine 3221
Office Hours (Spring 2018): MW 9:00-10:30, TR 1:00-2:00

 

Rebecca Bullard-Dillard

Rebecca Bullard-Dillard, Ph.D.

Associate Vice Chancellor for Research and Sponsored Programs
Email: rebecca.dillard@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.775.4548
Office: Lindsay Administration 133

 

Tom Dooling

Tom Dooling, Ph.D.

Professor
Area: Physics, Nuclear Physics
Email: tom.dooling@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6595
Office: Oxendine 3211
Web Page: www.uncp.edu/home/dooling/

 

Paul Flowers

Paul A. Flowers, Ph.D.

Professor
Area: Analytical Chemistry
Email: paul.flowers@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6424
Office: Oxendine 3221
Office Hours (Spring 2018): M-F 9:00-10:00 and by appointment
Web Page

 

Len Holmes

Len Holmes, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Area: Biochemistry, Bioprocessing, Fermentation Technology
Email: lholmes@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6650
Office: Biotechnology Center

 

Benjamin KillianBenjamin J. Killian, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Area:  Physical Chemistry
Email: benjamin.killian@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.775.4365
Office: Oxendine 3229
Office Hours (Spring 2018): M 8:00-8:50, T 2:00-3:55,  W 9:05-9:55, R 8:00-9:15

 

Mark McClure

Mark McClure, Ph.D.

Professor
Area: Inorganic Chemistry, NMR Spectroscopy
Email: mcclurem@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.522.5706
Office: Oxendine 3217
Office Hours (Spring 2018): TR 3:30-4:30, MF 10:30-11:30
Web Page: www.uncp.edu/home/mcclurem/

 

Quinton Rice, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Area: Physics
Office: Oxendine 3213
 

Rachel Smith

Rachel Smith, Ph.D.

Professor
Area: Organic Chemistry
Email: rachel.smith@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6426
Office: Oxendine 3223
Office Hours (Spring 2018): MWRF 10:00-11:00, T 11:30-12:30

Meredith Storms

Meredith Storms, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Area: Chemistry
Email: meredith.storms@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6427
Office: Oxendine 3219
Office Hours (Spring 2018): M 12:00-2:00,  T 3:00-5:00,  W 10:00-11:00, R 9:00-10:00 PM (virtual)

 

Roland Stout

Roland Stout, Ph.D.

Professor
Area: Physical Chemistry
Email: roland.stout@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6425
Office: Oxendine 3228
Office Hours (Spring 2018): M 8:30-10:30, 1:00-2:00, W 10:00-10:45, 1:00-2:00, R 9:30-11:30

 

Cornelia Tirla

Cornelia Tirla, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Area: Organic Chemistry
Email: cornelia.tirla@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.522.5709
Office: Oxendine 3227
Office Hours (Spring 2018):  MF 9:00-10:00, TWR 2:00-3:00
Web Page: www.uncp.edu/home/ctirla/
Web Page

arrow up

LECTURERS 

Felicia Scott

Felicia B. Scott, M.S.

Senior Lecturer
Area: General and Organic Chemistry
Email: felicia.scott@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6512
Office: Oxendine 3205
Office Hours (Fall 2017):

 

Sally Vallabha

Sally Vallabha, M.S.

Senior Lecturer
Area: Chemistry
Email: sally.vallabha@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.775.4034
Office: Oxendine 3215
Office Hours:(Fall 2017):

arrow up

Staff

Hope Bullock

Hope Bullock

Administrative Support Associate
Email: hope.bullock@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6247
Office: Oxendine 3101

 

Carolyn Parsons

Carolyn Oxendine, B.S.

Research Operations Manager
Email: carolyn.parsons@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6197
Office: Oxendine 3204

arrow up

Retired Faculty

Tim Ritter

Timothy M. Ritter, Ph.D.

Professor
Area: Physics
Email: tim.ritter@uncp.edu

 

Harold Teague

Harold Teague, Ph.D

Professor Emeritus
Area: Chemistry
Office: Oxendine 3203

 

arrow up