Elementary Education

B.S. Elementary Education

The Department of Elementary Education offers the Bachelor of Science degree in Elementary Education.

The Elementary Education program is one of 12 teacher education programs offered at UNCP.  The program is designed to (1) provide experiences for candidates to develop the content knowledge necessary to be a successful teacher in the Kindergarten-Grade 6 learning environment, as noted by the North Carolina Teaching Content Standards; (2) provide candidates with experiences in pedagogical content knowledge, as noted by the North Carolina Professional Teaching Standards; and (3) provide experiences whereby candidates develop into professional educators who are committed, collaborative, and competent, as noted in the UNCP School of Education Conceptual Framework.

It is our desire that the Elementary Education graduates will motivate and engage their Kindergarten-Grade 6 students in active learning and that they will inspire them to become lifelong learners.

The UNCP Teacher Education Program is accredited by the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE) and the Undergraduate Elementary Education program is approved by the NC State Board of Education. Individuals who complete the Undergraduate Elementary Education program are eligible for a Standard Professional I license to teach in the state of North Carolina. 

Each Elementary Education major or licensure candidate is assigned an advisor who helps the student plan and approves his or her program of study. 

Additional Information 2014-15 UNCP Catalog

Elementary Education Undergraduate Handbook

 

Undergraduate Elementary Education Faculty

Dr. Karen Stanley

Dr. Karen L. Stanley

Chair and Associate Professor
Email: karen.stanley@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6528
Location: Education Center, Room 113

 

Kelly Ficklin

Kelly Ficklin

Coordinator, Undergraduate Elementary Education
Email: kelly.ficklin@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.775.4037
Location: Education Center, Room 215B

 

Dr. Irene Aiken

Dr. Irene Aiken

Professor
Email: irene.aiken@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6271
Location: Lindsay Hall

  

 Rebecca BerdeauRebecca Berdeau

Lecturer
Email: rebecca.berdeau@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6779
Location: Education Center, Room 208

 

Dr. Emily Long

Dr. Emily Long

Associate Professor
Email: emily.long@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6451
Location: Education Center, Room 320

  

Dr. Lisa Mitchell

Dr. Lisa Mitchell

Assistant Professor
Email: lisa.mitchell@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.775.4412
Location: Education Center, Room 319

 

Dr. Claudia NickolsonDr. Claudia Nickolson

Associate Professor
Email: claudia.nickolson@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.775.4413
Location: Education Center, Room 215A

  

Dr. Joe Sciulli

Dr. Joe Sciulli

Assistant Professor
Email: joe.sciulli@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6362
Location: Education Center, Room 101E