News & Events

History & SSE Scholarships

The History Department's faculty has selected the Outstanding Student of the Year and the recipients for scholarships during the 2014-2015 academic year. Chase Kaui, who has built a strong record of excellence, was named the Outstanding Student. The complete list of honorees is listed below, and members of the History Department wish to congratulate all of them on their academic success.

Chase Kaui
Outstanding Student of the Year

Chase Kaui

Stephanie Bracey
Nancy Jones-Dorothy Hupp Memorial Scholarship
Sue Betty Locklear Endowed Memorial Scholarship

Alicia Hatmaker
Society of the Sons of the Revolution in the State of North Carolina Scholarship in History

Charles Jackson
John Green Memorial Endowed Scholarship

Megan Johnson
History Faculty Scholarship

Kenneth Maynor
Clifton Oxendine Scholarship

Marcos Simon
History Faculty Scholarship

Joseph Sobieski
Loren Butler II History Award

Jamal Soles
James C. Maynor Scholarship

Brianna Visaggo
Max M. Weinstein history Scholarship


Staff Awards

The Department of History is proud to recognize Ms. Janet Gentes, who recently was named UNC Pembroke's "Star Employee." Even though History/SSE students and faculty have long considered her a bright star in Dial and around campus, please take this opportunity to congratulate her for the award and thank her for her contributions to the History Department and its smooth running.

Janet Gentes - Star Employee

Faculty Awards

The UNCP Department of History proudly recognizes three of its faculty who were recipients of the 2013 UNCP faculty awards.

Weston Cook

Dr. Weston Cook, Outstanding Teaching Award

Jaime Martinez

Dr. Jaime Martinez, Outstanding Teaching Award

Rose Stremlau

Dr. Rose Stremlau, Adolph Dial Award for Scholarship & Creative Work


[Click for past award winners from the History Department]