Nursing

Faculty & Staff

Faculty

Barbara B. Synowiez, PhD, MSN, RN 

Department Chair
Professor and BSN Coordinator 
Health Sciences Building; Office 340J 
Phone: 910.521.6522
Email: barbara.synowiez@uncp.edu
Office Hours: M 2:00-4:00 PM; W 3:00-5:00 PM; Th 3:00-4:00 PM;
Additional hours:  Check with Administrative Support Associate (Mary Baynes at 910-521-6522)                                  

Joyce Beard

Joyce M. Beard, MSN, PHCNS-BC, NCSN, RN 

Assistant Professor
Health Sciences Building; Office 325 
Phone: 910.775.4308
Email: joyce.beard@uncp.edu
Office Hours:  M 7:45-8:45 AM; 5:00-6:00 PM; T 3:30-4:30 PM (Hoke Health Department); Th 3:00-5:00 PM

Cherry Maynor Beasley, PhD, MS, FNP, RN 

Associate Professor, RN-BSN Coordinator
Health Sciences Building; Office 301 
Phone: 910.521.6524 
Email: cherry.beasley@uncp.edu

Jennifer Coughenour, MSN, RN

Assistant Professor
Health Sciences Building; Office 330
Phone:  910.521.6747
Email: jennifer.coughenour@uncp.edu

Dena Evans

Dena B. Evans, EdD, MPH, BSN, RN, CNE, CNL

Associate Professor
Health Sciences Building; Office 323 
Phone: 910.521.6653
Email: dena.evans@uncp.edu
Office Hours:  M 1:00-4:00 PM; Th 3:00-4:00 PM
Friday 8:00-9:00 AM (Virtual); Others by appointment.

Martha Hepler

Martha B. Hepler MSN/Ed., RN, CHSE

Director, Clinical Learning Center
Clinical Assistant Professor 
Health Sciences Building; Office 216A 
Phone: 910.775.4139
Email: martha.hepler@uncp.edu
Office Hours: M 4:00-5:00 PM; W 3:00-4:00 PM; F 9:00A-12:00 PM

Amanda Jeffries, MSN, RN

Assistant Professor
Health Sciences Building; Office 327
Phone:Email:  amanda.jeffries@uncp.edu
Office Hours:  T 1:00-2:00 PM and 8:00-8:30 PM (CFVMC);
W 2:00-4:30 PM; Th 11:00-12:00 PM

Jennifer Johnson

Jennifer L. Johnson, DNP, MSN, WHNP-BC, RN 

Director of Undergraduate Programs, Assistant Professor 
Health Sciences Building; Office 340H 
Phone: 910.521.6787
Email: jennifer.johnson@uncp.edu
Office Hours: MW 3:30-4:30 PM; T Th 12:00-1:30 PM

Jennifer Locklear

Jennifer Jones-Locklear, MSN/Ed., RN 

Clinical Assistant Professor
Health Sciences Building; Office 318 
Phone: 910.775.4162
Email: jennifer.jones-locklear@uncp.edu

Kate Rocklein Kemplin, DNP, RN, CCEMTP

Assistant Professor
Health Sciences Building; Office 314
Phone: 910.521.4145
Email: katharine.rocklein@uncp.edu
Office Hours:  TWR 12:00-1:00 PM

Debbie Locklear, MSN, RN

Clinical Assistant Professor
Health Sciences Building; Office 308
Phone:
Email:

Astrid Oviedo

Astrid Oviedo

Assistant Professor
Health Sciences Building; Office 329
Phone: 910.521.6739
Email: astrid.oviedo@uncp.edu

Office Hours: TW 1:00-2:00 & 8:00-9:00 PM; Th 11:00-12:00 PM

Joyce Stanley

Joyce D. Stanley, MSN/CNS, RN 

Assistant Professor, LEC Coordinator
Health Sciences Building; Office 257B 
Phone: 910.775.4141
Email: joyce.stanley@uncp.edu
Office Hours: M 3:00-4:00 PM; T 2:00-4:00 PM; W 8:00-10:00 AM

Misty Stone, MSN, RN

Clinical Assistant Professor
Health Sciences Building; Office 326
Phone: 910.775.4164
Email: misty.stone@uncp.edu
Office Hours: (1st 8 Weeks) M 10:00 AM -1:00 PM; W 1:00-2:00 PM; Th 12:00-1:00 PM; (2nd 8 Weeks) M 11:00-12:00 PM;
W 1:00-2:00 PM; Th 11:00-12:00 PM

John Toth

Assistant Professor
Health Sciences Building; Office 331
Phone:
Email:

Jennifer Twaddell

Jennifer W. Twaddell PhD, MSN, RN 

Director of Graduate Programs
Assistant Professor
SouthCentral RIBN Collaborative Coordinator
Health Sciences Building; Office 340L
Phone: 910.775.4142
Email: jennifer.twaddell@uncp.edu
Office Hours:  M 1:00-3:00 PM; W 2:00-4:00 PM; Th 3:00-4:00 PM

Tiffany Tyson

Tiffany Tyson, DNP, MSN, FNP-BC 

Assistant Professor
Health Sciences Building; Office 317
Phone: 910-775-4535
Email: tiffany.tyson@uncp.edu
Office Hours:  M 4:00-5:00 PM; T 5:00-6:00 PM; W 8:00-9:00 AM

Aprel Ventura

Aprel Ventura, MSN, RN, CNE 

Assistant Professor 
Health Sciences Building; Office 322 
Phone: 910.775.4147
Email: aprel.ventura@uncp.edu

Office Hours:  M 0745-0845; W 4:00-6:00 PM; Th 10:00-12:00 PM (1st 8 weeks), 11:00-1:00 PM (2nd 8 weeks)            

Staff

Mary Baynes

Mary Baynes

Administrative Support Associate 
Health Sciences Building; Office 340A 
Phone: 910.775.4447

Email: mary.baynes@uncp.edu

James Crouch

RIBN Student Success Advocate
Health Sciences Building; Office 340B
Phone:  910.775.4146
Email:  james.crouch@uncp.edu