Sociology and Criminal Justice

Faculty and Staff

Mario PaparozziMario A. Paparozzi, Ph.D.

Chair and Professor
Phone: 910.522.5783
Email:  mario.paparozzi@uncp.edu
Office: 202 Sampson

Office Hours: MWF: 9:00-12:00 p.m. & by appointment
Specialty areas: Probation and Parole, Community Corrections, Criminology

Shannon MaynorShannon J. Maynor

Administrative Support Associate
Phone: 910.521.6380
Email:  shannon.maynor@uncp.edu
Office: 201 Sampson

 

Jessica AbbottJessica Abbott, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Email:  jessica.abbott@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.775-4259
Office: 222 Sampson

Office Hours: MW 8:30-9:00 & 11:00-12:00, F 8:30-12:00 pm, 3:30-4:00pm & by appointment

John BowmanJohn Bowman, Ph.D.

Professor
Phone: 910.521.6626
Email:  john.bowman@uncp.edu
Office: 211 Sampson

Office Hours: No classes Fall 2014. By appointment only

Specialty areas: The Family, At-risk Youth, Health Promotionand Wellness, Chinese Studies

Calvina EllerbeCalvina Ellerbe, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Phone: 910.521.6541
Email:  calvina.ellerbe@uncp.edu
Office: 221 Sampson

Office Hours: MWF:10:00-11:10 and 12:10 - 2:10p.m. & by appointment
Specialty areas: Demography, Marriage and Family, Race and Ethnicity

Jessica GodseyJessica Godsey, J.D.

Lecturer 
Phone: 910.521.6574
Email:  jessica.godsey@uncp.edu
Office: 209 Sampson

Office hours: MW: 8:30-9:00 am; and 1:00-3:30 & by appointment
Specialty areas: Criminal Law, Criminal Procedure, Family Violence

Roger GuyRoger Guy, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Phone: 910.775.4273
Email:  roger.guy@uncp.edu
Office: 208 Sampson

Office Hours: MWF: 7:00-8:00 a.m.; M & F: 9:00-11:00 & by appointment
DARS Audit Instructions 

 

Sonali Jain

Sonali Jain, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor 
Phone: 910.521.6474
Email:  sjain@uncp.edu
Office: 219 Sampson

Office hours: M: 4:30-6:00 p.m.; T/R: 9:00-9:30 and 12:15-1:45 p.m & by appointment
Specialty areas: Globalization, Asia, Qualitative Methods

 

Brooke Kelly

E. Brooke Kelly, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Phone: 910.775.4038
Email:  brooke.kelly@uncp.edu
Office: 212 Sampson

Office Hours: MWF: 12:15-1:15, WF2:30-3:30 & by appointment
Specialty areas: Inequalities, Gender, Family, Work, and Poverty

 

Renee Lamphere

Renee Lamphere, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Phone: 910.775.4084
Email:  renee.lamphere@uncp.edu
Office: 218 Sampson

Office Hours: M:1:15-3:15, W: 10:00-11:00 am; 2:30-3:30 pm; F: 10-11:00 am & by appointment

Specialty areas: Corrections, Digital Media Crime, Juvenile Delinquency, Violence & Victimology, Mixed-Methods Research

 

J. Porter Lillis

J. Porter Lillis, Ph.D.

Assiatant Professor
Phone: 910.521.6473
Email:  john.lillis@uncp.edu
Office: 220 Sampson

Office Hours: M: 11:10-2:10 pm, W. 11:10-12:10, 1:30-2:30 F. 11:10-12:10 & by appointment

 

Steve Marson

Steve Marson, Ph.D.

Professor
Phone: 910.521.6475
Email:  steve.marson@uncp.edu
Office: 217 Sampson
Office Hours: M: 11-12; T: 1:00-2:00; W: 4:00-5:00; Th: 5:00 - 6:00, F: 11:00-12:00 (Tutoring only) & by appointment
Specialty areas: Technology, Gerontology, Ethics, Research/Statistics

 

Robert McDonnell

Robert S. McDonnell, MPA

Lecturer
Phone: 910.521.6232
Email:  robert.mcdonnell@uncp.edu
Office: 215 Sampson

Office Hours: T/R: 11-12:30; W: 9:00-12:00 & by appointment
Specialty areas: Terrorism Studies, Criminal Investigation, Criminal Procedure, Criminal Justice Leadership, Investigative Information Management, International Law Enforcement.

 

Ottis Murray

Ottis Murray, Ed.D

Professor
Phone: 910.521.6821
Email:  ottis.murray@uncp.edu
Office: 214 Sampson

Office Hours: MW: 10-11:00am and 12:15-1:15, F 10:00-11:00; & by appointment
Specialty areas: Collective Behavior and Social Movements, Popular Culture, Death and Dying, Computer/Technology & Society

 

Sam Pearson

Sam Pearson, Ph.D.

Lecturer 
Phone: 910.521.6885
Email:  sam.pearson@uncp.edu
Office: 207 Sampson
Office Hours: T/Th: 12:30-2:00, 3:30-4:30; F: 2:30-3:30 & by appointment
Specialty areas: Criminology, Private Security, Community Policing, Criminal Investigation, Criminal Justice Administration and Management 

 

Marlene Powell

Rasby Marlene Powell, Ph.D.

Professor
Co-director of the Interdisciplinary Gender Minor
Phone: 910.521.6477
Email:  rasby.powell@uncp.edu
Office: 213 Sampson
Office Hours: T/Th: 1:00-2:00; W: 8:30-11:30 & by appointment
Specialty areas: Community, Theory, Qualitative Research, and Sociology of Emotions.

 

James Robinson

James W. Robinson, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Director of the UNCP Bachelor of Interdisciplinary Studies Degree Program 
Email:  james.robinson@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.522.5785
Office: 216 Sampson
Office Hours: T/R: 11:00-12:00pm 3:30 - 5:00 & by appointment
Specialty areas: Theory, Social Psychology, Social Inequality, Organizations, Research Methods, Statistics 

 

Michael Spivey

Michael Spivey, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Phone: 910.521.6776

Email:  michael.spivey@uncp.edu

Office: 210 Sampson Office Hours:  T/R 10:00-11:00 W 3:00-6:00 & by appointment

Specialty areas: Social Inequality, Native American Studies, Critical Theory/Cultural Studies, Ethnography

 

Adjunct Faculty