Sociology and Criminal Justice
Sociology and Criminal Justice

Faculty and Staff - Your Partners in Success

Mario PaparozziMario A. Paparozzi, Ph.D.

Chair and Professor
Phone: 910.522.5783
Email:  mario.paparozzi@uncp.edu
Office: 202 Sampson

Office Hours: Spring 2018: Mon., Wed., & Fri  9:00-12:00 pm; most Tuesday & Thursday mornings, & by appointment.
Specialty areas: Probation and Parole, Community Corrections, Criminology

Shannon MaynorShannon J. Maynor

Administrative Support Associate
Phone: 910.521.6380
Email:  shannon.maynor@uncp.edu
Office: 201 Sampson

 

Yawo A. Bessa, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Email:  yawo.bessa@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521-6477
Office: 218 Sampson

Office Hours:  Spring 2018: Mon., Wed., & Fri., 9:00 - 11:00 am, & by appointment.
Specialty Areas:  Sociology of Health/Mental Health, Sociological Theory, Delinquency/Deviance, Gerontology, & Family

 

Calvina EllerbeCalvina Ellerbe, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Phone: 910.521.6541
Email:  calvina.ellerbe@uncp.edu
Office: 217 Sampson

Office Hours: Spring 2018: Mon., Wed., Fri., 8:40 - 10:10 am, 1:10 - 2:10 pm, & by appointment.
Specialty areas: Demography, Marriage and Family, Race and Ethnicity

 

Jessica GodseyJessica Godsey, J.D.

Lecturer 
Phone: 910.521.6574
Email:  jessica.godsey@uncp.edu
Office: 209 Sampson

Office hours: Spring 2018:  Tues. & Thurs., 3:15 - 4:00 pm; Wed., 9:30 - 2:00 pm., & by appointment.
Specialty areas: Criminal Law, Criminal Procedure, Family Violence

 

Roger GuyRoger Guy, Ph.D.

Professor
Phone: 910.775.4273
Email:  roger.guy@uncp.edu
Office: 208 Sampson

Office hours: Spring 2018:  Mon. & Wed., 7:00 am - 8:00 am, 9:00 - 11:00 am, & by appointment.

Link to Roger Guy's recent book

DARS Audit Instructions

 

Sonali Jain

Sonali Jain, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor 
Phone: 910.521.6474
Email:  sjain@uncp.edu
Office: 211 Sampson

Office hours:  Spring 2018:  Tues. & Thurs, 9:30 - 11:00 am, 12:15-12:30; Fri., 12:00-1:30 pm, & by appointment.
Specialty areas: Globalization, Asia, Qualitative Methods

 

Brooke Kelly

E. Brooke Kelly, Ph.D.

Professor
Phone: 910.775.4038
Email:  brooke.kelly@uncp.edu
Office: 212 Sampson

Office Hours: Spring 2018:  Tues. & Thurs., 10:00 - 10:45 am; Wed., 10:00 - 12:00 pm, & by appointment.
Specialty areas: Inequalities, Gender, Family, Work, and Poverty

 

Renee Lamphere

Renee Lamphere, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Phone: 910.775.4084
Email:  renee.lamphere@uncp.edu
Office: 213 Sampson

Office Hours: Spring 2018:  Mon., 11:00 - 1:00 pm; Wed., 10:00 - 11:00, 2:30 - 3:30 pm; Fri., 12:00-1:00 pm,  & by appointment.
Specialty areas: Corrections, Digital Media Crime, Juvenile Delinquency, Violence & Victimology, Mixed-Methods Research

 

J. Porter Lillis

J. Porter Lillis, Ph.D.

Assistant Chair/Assistant Professor
Phone: 910.521.6473
Email:  john.lillis@uncp.edu
Office: 220 Sampson

Office Hours: Spring 2018:  Tues., 3:15 - 5:00 pm; Wed., 3:00 - 5:00 pm; Thurs., 3:15 - 4:30 pm, & any time my door is open.  Other times are available by appointment to best accommodate your schedule.
Specialty areas:  Medical Sociology & Gerontology

 

Bob M

Robert S. McDonnell, MPA

Lecturer
Phone: 910.521.6232
Email:  robert.mcdonnell@uncp.edu
Office: 215 Sampson

Office Hours: Spring 2018:  Mon., 8:00 - 9:00 am, 11:00 - 2:00 pm; Wed. & Fri., 8:00 - 9:00 am, & by appointment.
Specialty areas: Terrorism Studies, Criminal Investigation, Criminal Procedure, Criminal Justice Leadership, Investigative Information Management, International Law Enforcement
 

Ottis Murray

Ottis Murray, Ed.D

Professor
Phone: 910.521.6821
Email:  ottis.murray@uncp.edu
Office: 214 Sampson

Office Hours:  Spring 2018: Mon., Wed., Fri., 8:30 - 9:00, 10:00 - 11:00, 12:15 - 1:00 pm; Fri., 8:30 - 9:00, 10:00 - 11:00, & by appointment.
Specialty areas: Collective Behavior and Social Movements, Popular Culture, Death and Dying, Computer/Technology & Society
 

Sam Pearson

Sam Pearson, Ph.D.

Lecturer 
Email:  sam.pearson@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6885
Office: 207 Sampson

Office Hours: Spring 2018:  Mon., Wed., Fri., 10:00 - 11:00 am, 12:15 - 1:15 pm, 4:30 - 5:00 pm, & by appointment.
Specialty areas: Criminology, Private Security, Community Policing, Criminal Investigation, Criminal Justice Administration and Management 

 

James Robinson

 E. Miranda Reiter, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Email:  miranda.reiter@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.521.6475
Office: 221 Sampson

 
Office Hours:  Spring 2018: Tues. & Thurs., 1:45 - 2:45 pm; Wed., 12:00 - 3:00 pm, & by appointment.
Specialty areas:  Social Epedemiology, Demography, and Health Disparities

 

James Robinson

James W. Robinson, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Email:  james.robinson@uncp.edu
Phone: 910.522.5785
Office: 216 Sampson

Office Hours: Spring 2018:  Mon., 11:00 - 1:00 pm; Tues. & Thurs., 11:00 - 12:30 pm, & by appointment.
Specialty areas: Theory, Social Psychology, Social Inequality, Organizations, Research Methods, Statistics 
 

Michael Spivey

Michael Spivey, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Phone: 910.521.6776
Email:  michael.spivey@uncp.edu
Office: 210 Sampson

Office Hours:  Spring 2018: Mon. & Wed., 11:00 - 12:00 pm, 1:15-2:15 pm; Fri., 11:00 - 12:00 pm, & by appointment.
Specialty areas: Social Inequality, Native American Studies, Critical Theory/Cultural Studies, Ethnography 

 

Adjunct Faculty

Angelia Adams (angelia.adams@uncp.edu)
Robert Baker (robert.baker@uncp.edu)
R. Travis Bryant (travis.bryant@uncp.edu)
Marda Godsey (marda.godsey@uncp.edu)
Omeed Ilchi (omeed.ilchi@uncp.edu)
Andrzej Jachimczyk (andrzej.jachimczyk@uncp.edu)
Rudy Locklear (rudy.locklear@uncp.edu)
Stephen Marson (steve.marson@uncp.edu)
Jesse McQueen (jesse.mcqueen@uncp.edu)
Ronnie Norton, Jr. (ronnie.norton@uncp.edu)
Judith Paparozzi (judith.paparozzi@uncp.edu)
Abigail Reiter (abigail.reiter@uncp.edu)
Neilson Weatherly (neilson.weatherly@uncp.edu)